Saturday, January 17, 2015

About ICC

Our Vision of Success

As a leading global sport, cricket will captivate and inspire people of every age, gender, background and ability while building bridges between continents, countries and communities.

Strategic Direction

A bigger, better, global game targeting more players, more fans, more competitive teams.

Our long-term success will be judged on growth in participation and public interest and the competitiveness of teams participating in men's and women's international cricket.

Mission Statement

As the international governing body for cricket, the International Cricket Council will lead by:
  • Providing a world class environment for international cricket
  • Delivering 'major' events across three formats
  • Providing targeted support to Members
  • Promoting the global game

Our Values

The ICC's actions and people are guided by the following values:
  • Fairness and Integrity
  • Excellence
  • Accountability
  • Teamwork
  • Respect for diversity
  • Commitment to the global game and its great spirit

ICC Chairman N Srinivasan

Narayanaswami Srinivasan, an industrialist, has been the president of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association in India since 2001-02, and a part of the Board of Control for Cricket in India since 2005-06 - first as treasurer and then as secretary, before becoming the president in 2011-12.

From India’s point of view, the national team won the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 and the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup Australia 2012 since he took over as president. He has also played a pivotal role in creating and developing cricket infrastructure across India: four state of the art stadia – Rajkot, Ranchi, Pune and Dharamsala – made their international debuts in the 2012-13 season. That aside, member associations under the aegis of the BCCI benefitted under him with emphasis being placed on getting qualified coaches, physiotherapists and trainers, as well as training for match officials.

It was during Mr Srinivasan’s tenure as president of the BCCI that the board made its one-time benefit payment to international and first-class cricketers who retired before 2004 – more than Rs 100 crore was distributed among 174 cricketers (including the widows of deceased Test cricketers) as part of the scheme.

ICC President Mustafa Kamal

A chartered accountant by training, Mustafa Kamal was the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) president from September 2009 to October 2013, a former chairman of the ICC’s Audit Committee, president of the Asian Cricket Council between 2010 and 2012 and the ICC Vice-President from 2012 to 2014.

He was a prominent face in the pre-Test era in Bangladesh first as director and then chairman of Abahani Limited, one of the premier cricket clubs in the country, and founded the Lotus Kamal Pace Bowling Cricket Academy, one of the first of its kind in Bangladesh. He also led the process of bringing in high-profile overseas cricketers for the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League, the most high-profile cricket tournament in Bangladesh at the time. Later, in 2012-13, he initiated the process of bringing all first-class players under the BCB central contracts system.

Away from cricket, Mr Kamal has been elected Member of Parliament three times and is presently the Minister for Planning of the Bangladesh government.
  ICC Chief Executive David RichardsonDavid Richardson

South Africa’s premier wicketkeeper for the first seven years after its readmission to international cricket, David Richardson played 42 Tests and 122 One-Day Internationals before retiring from all cricket in 1998 after a 21-year first-class career.

Mr Richardson, a qualified lawyer, remained in touch with the game after retirement as both a media commentator as well as a business director with Octagon SA, the company responsible for negotiating player employment contracts with the United Cricket Board of South Africa, as Cricket South Africa was known then. Then, in January 2002, he was appointed the first ICC general manager of cricket, a post he retained till June 2012, before becoming the fourth ICC chief executive, replacing Haroon Lorgat.


Post a Comment